Race Journal Online
est. October 4, 2006

"I believe anybody who tells you he is unbiased is a liar. Being human gives you bias, and you can't avoid that. The best you can ever hope to be is fair."
-David Poole

Click to read David Poole tribute

2016 Champion
Jimmie Johnson

2016 Race Winners

Denny Hamlin (2)
Jimmie Johnson (2)
Brad Keselowski (4)
Kevin Harvick (2)
Kyle Busch (4)
Carl Edwards (2)
Matt Kenseth (2)
Martin Truex (2)
Kurt Busch
Joey Logano
Tony Stewart
Chris Buescher
Kyle Larson

Please keep
Karen and Bryson Byrnes
in your daily prayers.

"When Steve and I were done talking, I felt happier."
-Kenny Wallace, summing it up perfectly for every person who ever met Steve Byrnes.

Please consider giving to

Friends of RJO




The Daly Planet

Friday's Top 10

Friday's Top 10
Bookmark and Share
By Carol Einarsson | 10/07/2011
Category: Friday's Top 10

10 ARCA races have been run at Kansas, but none have ever before been run under the lights as they will this weekend! Frank Kimmel is the only driver to win more than one ARCA race here. Last year's ARCA race was won by Richard "Hold My Watch" Childress' grandson, Ty Dillon.

9th spot on the starting grid has never produced a winner at Kansas in the Cup, Nationwide, Truck, ARCA, or even IndyCar series. No series at this race track, in its entire history has ever produced a winner that started 9th.

8 different drivers have won at Kansas, and all will be in the field for Sunday's race. Tony Stewart, Jeff Gordon, and Greg Biffle are the only two-time winners.

7 p.m. Friday night on SPEED (Eastern, of course), tune in to see Steve Byrnes return to Trackside!

6 a.m. is what time the parking lots open this weekend at Kansas.

5th starting spot has produced the last two October race winners at Kansas, with Tony winning from 5th in 2009, and Biffle winning from the same starting spot last year. Who'll qualify in 5th this week?

4th in points, Kurt Busch, has never won at Kansas, but earlier this year, his teammate Brad Keselowski took Dodge to Victory Lane for the first time since 2003, and if Kurt can win this Sunday, it'll be a Penske sweep at Kansas!

3 drivers, Jeff, Joe, and Jimmie have something more in common than just their first initial. Gordon, Nemechek, and Johnson are the only three to win a Kansas Cup race from a front row starting position.

2 wins have been claimed by Greg Biffle, and if you want him to go out and start his car to prove there's still fuel in the tank, he'll do it!

1 Kansas race was won by Joe Nemechek, and it was in 2004 when he swept the weekend, winning also the Nationwide race on Saturday. That Cup race he won was from the pole!



You must be logged-in to comment on articles.

Click here to login
Register for free.


Find more RJO at:

Race Journal Online

Official Rules of New Chase Format

2014 Penalty/Deterrent System

TV Times are only estimates
Sprint Cup 2016 Schedule
Saturday night races in red

Feb 21 1pm FOX Daytona
Feb 28 1pm FOX Atlanta

Mar 06 3pm FOX Las Vegas
Mar 13 3pm FOX Phoenix
Mar 20 3pm FOX Fontana
Mar 29 1pm FS1 Martinsvl
Mar 27 OFF (Easter)

Apr 03 1pm FOX Martinsville
Apr 09 7pm FOX Texas
Apr 17 1pm FOX Bristol
Apr 24 1pm FOX Richmond

May 01 1pm FOX Talladega
May 07 7pm FS1 Kansas
May 15 1pm FOX Dover
May 21 7pm FS1 All Star
May 29 6pm FOX Charlotte

Jun 05 1pm FS1 Pocono
Jun 12 1pm FS1 Michigan
Jun 19 OFF
Jun 26 3pm FS1 Sonoma

Jul 02 7pm NBC Daytona
Jul 09 7pm NBCSN Kentucky
Jul 17 1pm NBCSN New Hampshr
Jul 24 3pm NBCSN Indy
Jul 31 1pm NBCSN Pocono

Aug 07 2pm NBCSN WatGlen
Aug 14 OFF
Aug 20 8pm NBCSN Bristol
Aug 28 2pm NBCSN Michigan

Sep 04 6pm NBC Darlington
Sep 10 7pm NBCSN Richmond

The Chase

Round of 16

Sep 18 2pm NBCSN Chicago
Sep 25 2pm NBCSN New Hampshr
Oct 02 2pm NBCSN Dover

Round of 12

Oct 08 7pm NBC Charlotte
Oct 16 2pm NBC Kansas
Oct 23 2pm NBCSN Talladega

Round of 8

Oct 30 1pm NBCSN Martinsvl
Nov 06 2pm NBC Texas
Nov 13 2pm NBC Phoenix

Championship 4

Nov 20 2pm NBC Homestead

Copyright © 2009 Carol Einarsson, All Rights Reserved.
Site Design by Distinctive Technology Consulting