Race Journal Online
est. October 4, 2006

"I believe anybody who tells you he is unbiased is a liar. Being human gives you bias, and you can't avoid that. The best you can ever hope to be is fair."
-David Poole

Click to read David Poole tribute

2016 Champion
Jimmie Johnson

2016 Race Winners

Denny Hamlin (2)
Jimmie Johnson (2)
Brad Keselowski (4)
Kevin Harvick (2)
Kyle Busch (4)
Carl Edwards (2)
Matt Kenseth (2)
Martin Truex (2)
Kurt Busch
Joey Logano
Tony Stewart
Chris Buescher
Kyle Larson

Please keep
Karen and Bryson Byrnes
in your daily prayers.

"When Steve and I were done talking, I felt happier."
-Kenny Wallace, summing it up perfectly for every person who ever met Steve Byrnes.

Please consider giving to

Friends of RJO




The Daly Planet

Friday's Top 10

Friday's Top 10
Bookmark and Share
By Carol Einarsson | 09/23/2011
Category: Friday's Top 10

10 different drivers have won the last 11 races at New Hampshire. Clint Bowyer is the spoiler that won two of them.

9 of the last 13 races here have been won by Chevy. It was nice of them for three races in 2008-9 to let Dodge, Ford, and Toyota each win a race in succession before returning to their dominating ways.

8.5 is the best average start at New Hampshire, and it's held by Ryan Newman over the course of 19 starts. It probably doesn't hurt that he also has the record for most poles, at five.

7.2 is the best average finish, and it's a record held by Denny Hamlin who has raced 11 times at Loudon.

6 drivers in the race on Sunday are in the top 30 in points, but have never led a lap at NHIS.

5 races at New Hampshire have been won from the pole, the most successful starting spot in the track's history. Second most successful is a tie between starting 6th and starting 13th, with three wins each.

4 is the record for most wins, and it's held by Jeff Burton. There are four other guys, though, tied with three wins apiece. Those four are Five Time, Big Daddy, Rocketman, and Kurt "In Jimmie's Head" Busch.

3 sets of brothers have won at New Hampshire. I should preface this by saying that it's getting late, and "3" is my last number to fill in. Having said that, the three sets of brothers are the Busch brothers, Kyle and Kurt; the Burton brothers, Jeff and Ward; and the.. uh.. Gordon brothers, Robby and Jeff.

2nd place was Jeff Burton's starting spot when he led every lap and won the infamous "restrictor plate" race at New Hampshire. You thought he started on the pole, didn't you? Me, too. Bobby Labonte actually started on the pole that day.

1 driver has earned more than 2.25 million dollars so far this year in the Cup series, yet he has zero points. He's in a tie for last place with 27 other drivers all who have zero points. Last place, no points, no wins, no poles, no top tens -- $2,271,100. And Joe Nemechek still has nine more races to park in 2011.



09/23/2011 7:40 am (1)
Got one big chuckle out of #3.
Had to come into work early, so that made my AM!!
Thanks, Carol.
09/23/2011 11:04 am (2)
I did think that Burton started on the pole for that race in #2!

and lol @#3 :)

You must be logged-in to comment on articles.

Click here to login
Register for free.


Find more RJO at:

Race Journal Online

Official Rules of New Chase Format

2014 Penalty/Deterrent System

TV Times are only estimates
Sprint Cup 2016 Schedule
Saturday night races in red

Feb 21 1pm FOX Daytona
Feb 28 1pm FOX Atlanta

Mar 06 3pm FOX Las Vegas
Mar 13 3pm FOX Phoenix
Mar 20 3pm FOX Fontana
Mar 29 1pm FS1 Martinsvl
Mar 27 OFF (Easter)

Apr 03 1pm FOX Martinsville
Apr 09 7pm FOX Texas
Apr 17 1pm FOX Bristol
Apr 24 1pm FOX Richmond

May 01 1pm FOX Talladega
May 07 7pm FS1 Kansas
May 15 1pm FOX Dover
May 21 7pm FS1 All Star
May 29 6pm FOX Charlotte

Jun 05 1pm FS1 Pocono
Jun 12 1pm FS1 Michigan
Jun 19 OFF
Jun 26 3pm FS1 Sonoma

Jul 02 7pm NBC Daytona
Jul 09 7pm NBCSN Kentucky
Jul 17 1pm NBCSN New Hampshr
Jul 24 3pm NBCSN Indy
Jul 31 1pm NBCSN Pocono

Aug 07 2pm NBCSN WatGlen
Aug 14 OFF
Aug 20 8pm NBCSN Bristol
Aug 28 2pm NBCSN Michigan

Sep 04 6pm NBC Darlington
Sep 10 7pm NBCSN Richmond

The Chase

Round of 16

Sep 18 2pm NBCSN Chicago
Sep 25 2pm NBCSN New Hampshr
Oct 02 2pm NBCSN Dover

Round of 12

Oct 08 7pm NBC Charlotte
Oct 16 2pm NBC Kansas
Oct 23 2pm NBCSN Talladega

Round of 8

Oct 30 1pm NBCSN Martinsvl
Nov 06 2pm NBC Texas
Nov 13 2pm NBC Phoenix

Championship 4

Nov 20 2pm NBC Homestead

Copyright © 2009 Carol Einarsson, All Rights Reserved.
Site Design by Distinctive Technology Consulting