Race Journal Online
est. October 4, 2006

"I believe anybody who tells you he is unbiased is a liar. Being human gives you bias, and you can't avoid that. The best you can ever hope to be is fair."
-David Poole

Click to read David Poole tribute

2016 Champion
Jimmie Johnson

2016 Race Winners

Denny Hamlin (2)
Jimmie Johnson (2)
Brad Keselowski (4)
Kevin Harvick (2)
Kyle Busch (4)
Carl Edwards (2)
Matt Kenseth (2)
Martin Truex (2)
Kurt Busch
Joey Logano
Tony Stewart
Chris Buescher
Kyle Larson

Please keep
Karen and Bryson Byrnes
in your daily prayers.

"When Steve and I were done talking, I felt happier."
-Kenny Wallace, summing it up perfectly for every person who ever met Steve Byrnes.

Please consider giving to

Friends of RJO




The Daly Planet

Are We There Yet

Have Crock-Pot, Will Travel... to Martinsville!
Bookmark and Share
By Carol Einarsson | 10/21/2010
Category: Are We There Yet

There have been 123 Cup races at Martinsville where they started racing in 1949. That first race was a field of 15 drivers.

The last eight races at Martinsville have been won by the drivers that are first and second in points right now. Jimmie's won five of them and Denny's won the other three. Good luck to everyone else.

Jimmie's won from the pole as well as from 20th; Denny's won from the outside pole and from as far back as 19th.

Up until 1970, the track was listed as exactly half a mile (.500 miles), but then was changed to be officially .525 miles. That lasted until 1984 when it was changed to be .526 miles.

From 1960-1974 Chevy failed to win a race at Martinsville. Since 1974, however, Chevy has won 54% of the Cup races here, with 39 victories in 72 races.

In the 1998 spring race at Martinsville, Bobby Hamilton won from the pole, something that's been done 17 other times, but we like mentioning Bobby Hamilton's accomplishments.

1964 was the year that Fred Lorenzen swept the season winning both races at Martinsville, and he won them both from the pole in his 1964 Ford. He also won the last race of 1963 and the first race of 1965, both from the outside pole, giving him four consecutive wins at the track.

The lowest starting position for an eventual winner was 36th by Kurt Busch in 2002. Prior to that, the old record was a 24th position start by winner Lee Petty in 1959.

The father/son combo of Richard and Kyle Petty have a combined number of starts at Martinsville of 121. Richard has the most starts of all drivers (67) and Kyle has the third most (54)

Richard Petty has the most wins with 15, and the next closest (among active drivers) is Jeff Gordon who still has to win eight Martinsville races to tie the King.

Speaking of Richard Petty and Jeff Gordon, despite the latter winning less than half the number of races as the King, he's taken home ten times the amount of money.

Kyle Busch has never won in Martinsville, and his average finish is 17.8, ranking him 21st among active drivers. In fact, 45% of his races, he's finished at least one lap down.

Jimmie Johnson, on the other hand, has finished 16 of his 17 races on the lead lap with an average finish of 5.4.

Jamie McMurray has nine top-10 finishes in his 15 starts.

Jimmie Johnson, on the other hand, has 16 top-10 finishes in his 17 starts.

Robby Gordon has no top-10 finishes in 20 starts, has an average finish here of 34.6, and has finished on the lead lap just once. He has, however, taken home more than $1.3 million dollars for his efforts.

It doesn't seem to matter how you spell your first name, but there is a pattern of pole success at Martinsville - Jeff Gordon and Geoff Bodine have each won seven.

Jimmie Johnson, on the other hand, has won the pole just once.

Toyota is an official sponsor of the track and has won three of the last five races at Martinsville.

The official Martinsville, VA website states, "While many visitors come to Martinsville for world-class NASCAR Nextel Cup, Craftsman Truck Series and late model stock car racing at Martinsville Speedway, we've got lots more to offer and see!"

There's a Chick-Fil-A in Martinsville, but we have to say the best sounding restaurant in the area has to be Dixie Pig Bar-B-Que on Memorial Blvd, who will fill up your crock pot with barbeque so you can take it home and serve it later. Go ahead, you know you want to... go get the crock pot and put it in the car to take with you!



You must be logged-in to comment on articles.

Click here to login
Register for free.


Find more RJO at:

Race Journal Online

Official Rules of New Chase Format

2014 Penalty/Deterrent System

TV Times are only estimates
Sprint Cup 2016 Schedule
Saturday night races in red

Feb 21 1pm FOX Daytona
Feb 28 1pm FOX Atlanta

Mar 06 3pm FOX Las Vegas
Mar 13 3pm FOX Phoenix
Mar 20 3pm FOX Fontana
Mar 29 1pm FS1 Martinsvl
Mar 27 OFF (Easter)

Apr 03 1pm FOX Martinsville
Apr 09 7pm FOX Texas
Apr 17 1pm FOX Bristol
Apr 24 1pm FOX Richmond

May 01 1pm FOX Talladega
May 07 7pm FS1 Kansas
May 15 1pm FOX Dover
May 21 7pm FS1 All Star
May 29 6pm FOX Charlotte

Jun 05 1pm FS1 Pocono
Jun 12 1pm FS1 Michigan
Jun 19 OFF
Jun 26 3pm FS1 Sonoma

Jul 02 7pm NBC Daytona
Jul 09 7pm NBCSN Kentucky
Jul 17 1pm NBCSN New Hampshr
Jul 24 3pm NBCSN Indy
Jul 31 1pm NBCSN Pocono

Aug 07 2pm NBCSN WatGlen
Aug 14 OFF
Aug 20 8pm NBCSN Bristol
Aug 28 2pm NBCSN Michigan

Sep 04 6pm NBC Darlington
Sep 10 7pm NBCSN Richmond

The Chase

Round of 16

Sep 18 2pm NBCSN Chicago
Sep 25 2pm NBCSN New Hampshr
Oct 02 2pm NBCSN Dover

Round of 12

Oct 08 7pm NBC Charlotte
Oct 16 2pm NBC Kansas
Oct 23 2pm NBCSN Talladega

Round of 8

Oct 30 1pm NBCSN Martinsvl
Nov 06 2pm NBC Texas
Nov 13 2pm NBC Phoenix

Championship 4

Nov 20 2pm NBC Homestead

Copyright © 2009 Carol Einarsson, All Rights Reserved.
Site Design by Distinctive Technology Consulting