Race Journal Online
est. October 4, 2006

"I believe anybody who tells you he is unbiased is a liar. Being human gives you bias, and you can't avoid that. The best you can ever hope to be is fair."
-David Poole

Click to read David Poole tribute

2016 Champion
Jimmie Johnson

2016 Race Winners

Denny Hamlin (2)
Jimmie Johnson (2)
Brad Keselowski (4)
Kevin Harvick (2)
Kyle Busch (4)
Carl Edwards (2)
Matt Kenseth (2)
Martin Truex (2)
Kurt Busch
Joey Logano
Tony Stewart
Chris Buescher
Kyle Larson

Please keep
Karen and Bryson Byrnes
in your daily prayers.

"When Steve and I were done talking, I felt happier."
-Kenny Wallace, summing it up perfectly for every person who ever met Steve Byrnes.

Please consider giving to

Friends of RJO




The Daly Planet

Friday's Top 10

Friday's Top 10: Fontana
Bookmark and Share
By Carol Einarsson and Dave Clark | 03/18/2016
Category: Friday's Top 10

10 active drivers have won a race at Fontana. 

9 times out of 26 the eventual winner has started in the top five, but seven times the winner started 22nd or worse! 

8 of the drivers in Sunday's field are California natives.

7 years (2004-2010) there were two races at Fontana. Now, even with just one race, they've cut their seating capacity nearly 30% and there are still seats available for Sunday's race. 

6 million dollars was spent to remove hazardous waste from the former Kaiser Steel Mill that sat on the ground where the track is now. 

5 times Jimmie Johnson has won in Fontana. However, if he's going to satisfy his OCD fans, he needs to win two more times - once from fifth and once from sixth starting positions. Currently he's won from the pole, second, third, fourth, and seventh. 

4 active drivers have multiple wins at this track. In addition to Jimmie, Kyle Busch (3), Matt Kenseth (3), and Tony Stewart (2) have won more than once at the Cup level. 

3 times the race at Fontana has been won by the reigning champion: Tony Stewart, Jeff Gordon, and Jimmie Johnson (who, naturally, did so four years in a row). 

2 wins is all Ford has accomplished in the last ten races at Auto Club Speedway. 

1 caution is the record low at Fontana. It was 2012, and Tony Stewart won the race.



You must be logged-in to comment on articles.

Click here to login
Register for free.


Find more RJO at:

Race Journal Online

Official Rules of New Chase Format

2014 Penalty/Deterrent System

TV Times are only estimates
Sprint Cup 2016 Schedule
Saturday night races in red

Feb 21 1pm FOX Daytona
Feb 28 1pm FOX Atlanta

Mar 06 3pm FOX Las Vegas
Mar 13 3pm FOX Phoenix
Mar 20 3pm FOX Fontana
Mar 29 1pm FS1 Martinsvl
Mar 27 OFF (Easter)

Apr 03 1pm FOX Martinsville
Apr 09 7pm FOX Texas
Apr 17 1pm FOX Bristol
Apr 24 1pm FOX Richmond

May 01 1pm FOX Talladega
May 07 7pm FS1 Kansas
May 15 1pm FOX Dover
May 21 7pm FS1 All Star
May 29 6pm FOX Charlotte

Jun 05 1pm FS1 Pocono
Jun 12 1pm FS1 Michigan
Jun 19 OFF
Jun 26 3pm FS1 Sonoma

Jul 02 7pm NBC Daytona
Jul 09 7pm NBCSN Kentucky
Jul 17 1pm NBCSN New Hampshr
Jul 24 3pm NBCSN Indy
Jul 31 1pm NBCSN Pocono

Aug 07 2pm NBCSN WatGlen
Aug 14 OFF
Aug 20 8pm NBCSN Bristol
Aug 28 2pm NBCSN Michigan

Sep 04 6pm NBC Darlington
Sep 10 7pm NBCSN Richmond

The Chase

Round of 16

Sep 18 2pm NBCSN Chicago
Sep 25 2pm NBCSN New Hampshr
Oct 02 2pm NBCSN Dover

Round of 12

Oct 08 7pm NBC Charlotte
Oct 16 2pm NBC Kansas
Oct 23 2pm NBCSN Talladega

Round of 8

Oct 30 1pm NBCSN Martinsvl
Nov 06 2pm NBC Texas
Nov 13 2pm NBC Phoenix

Championship 4

Nov 20 2pm NBC Homestead

Copyright © 2009 Carol Einarsson, All Rights Reserved.
Site Design by Distinctive Technology Consulting