Race Journal Online
est. October 4, 2006

"I believe anybody who tells you he is unbiased is a liar. Being human gives you bias, and you can't avoid that. The best you can ever hope to be is fair."
-David Poole

Click to read David Poole tribute

2016 Champion
Jimmie Johnson

2016 Race Winners

Denny Hamlin (2)
Jimmie Johnson (2)
Brad Keselowski (4)
Kevin Harvick (2)
Kyle Busch (4)
Carl Edwards (2)
Matt Kenseth (2)
Martin Truex (2)
Kurt Busch
Joey Logano
Tony Stewart
Chris Buescher
Kyle Larson

Please keep
Karen and Bryson Byrnes
in your daily prayers.

"When Steve and I were done talking, I felt happier."
-Kenny Wallace, summing it up perfectly for every person who ever met Steve Byrnes.

Please consider giving to

Friends of RJO




The Daly Planet

Friday's Top 10

Friday's Top 10: Phoenix
Bookmark and Share
By Carol Einarsson | 03/11/2016
Category: Friday's Top 10

10 races is the longest winning streak for a manufacturer at PIR, and it was by Chevy. 

9 caution flags waved at the 1990 race won by Dale Earnhardt, but in the whole race, there was just one lead change. Earnhardt started third that day.

8 lead changes in each of the last three races at PIR. Exactly 8. 

7 of the last ten races at PIR have been won by Chevy. 

6th starting position has only twice produced a winner in a Phoenix Cup race. First time was Rusty Wallace in his only PIR win, 1998, and the other was Jimmie Johnson's first PIR win, 2007. 

5 times a Cup race at Phoenix has been won from the pole, but nobody's ever done it twice.

4 of the last five races at PIR have been won by Kevin Harvick!

3 items you might want to leave at home if you're attending the race this weekend: dry ice, your selfie stick, your drone. All of these are banned at the track. 

2 race fans, Doug Wicks (who's been watching races from his perch on Rattlesnake Hill for more than 15 years) and his coworker George Perez, always sit in the same spot and say they've never seen a single rattlesnake. They say they've only ever seen one critter, a chipmunk, and they fed him peanuts. 

1 Race Journal Online photographer will be at Phoenix International Raceway this weekend! For photo requests, comment below and direct your comment to Eddo!



03/10/2016 11:49 pm (1)
No selfie sticks!?!?!?

I'm staying home then!!!!
03/11/2016 12:55 pm (2)
@Eddo-Request: pictures of the driver's kids. Especially not posed.
03/11/2016 5:29 pm (3)
haven't seen much in the way of any kiddos yet. :/
03/11/2016 7:40 pm (4)
Best time for that is Driver Introductions.

And there was another request on the FB page. Unrelated to any kind of throne, too. :-)

You must be logged-in to comment on articles.

Click here to login
Register for free.


Find more RJO at:

Race Journal Online

Official Rules of New Chase Format

2014 Penalty/Deterrent System

TV Times are only estimates
Sprint Cup 2016 Schedule
Saturday night races in red

Feb 21 1pm FOX Daytona
Feb 28 1pm FOX Atlanta

Mar 06 3pm FOX Las Vegas
Mar 13 3pm FOX Phoenix
Mar 20 3pm FOX Fontana
Mar 29 1pm FS1 Martinsvl
Mar 27 OFF (Easter)

Apr 03 1pm FOX Martinsville
Apr 09 7pm FOX Texas
Apr 17 1pm FOX Bristol
Apr 24 1pm FOX Richmond

May 01 1pm FOX Talladega
May 07 7pm FS1 Kansas
May 15 1pm FOX Dover
May 21 7pm FS1 All Star
May 29 6pm FOX Charlotte

Jun 05 1pm FS1 Pocono
Jun 12 1pm FS1 Michigan
Jun 19 OFF
Jun 26 3pm FS1 Sonoma

Jul 02 7pm NBC Daytona
Jul 09 7pm NBCSN Kentucky
Jul 17 1pm NBCSN New Hampshr
Jul 24 3pm NBCSN Indy
Jul 31 1pm NBCSN Pocono

Aug 07 2pm NBCSN WatGlen
Aug 14 OFF
Aug 20 8pm NBCSN Bristol
Aug 28 2pm NBCSN Michigan

Sep 04 6pm NBC Darlington
Sep 10 7pm NBCSN Richmond

The Chase

Round of 16

Sep 18 2pm NBCSN Chicago
Sep 25 2pm NBCSN New Hampshr
Oct 02 2pm NBCSN Dover

Round of 12

Oct 08 7pm NBC Charlotte
Oct 16 2pm NBC Kansas
Oct 23 2pm NBCSN Talladega

Round of 8

Oct 30 1pm NBCSN Martinsvl
Nov 06 2pm NBC Texas
Nov 13 2pm NBC Phoenix

Championship 4

Nov 20 2pm NBC Homestead

Copyright © 2009 Carol Einarsson, All Rights Reserved.
Site Design by Distinctive Technology Consulting